Facs4fun's Blog

Enriching the Lives of our FACS students

Turkey for you… Turkey for me…

on November 4, 2010

Every year I look forward to the Adam Sandler “Thanksgiving Song” to be played on the radio…

excerpt of the lyrics…

Turkey for me
Turkey for you
Let’s eat the turkey
In my big brown shoe
Love to eat the turkey
At the table
I once saw a movie
With Betty Grable
Eat that turkey
All night long
Fifty million Elvis fans
Can’t be wrong
Turkey lurkey doo and
Turkey lurkey dap
I eat that turkey
Then I take a nap

I look forward to that afternoon Thanksgiving nap, and I can’t believe that Thanksgiving is so close already this year… The semester just seems to fly on by! With that being said – We have a lot of things happening between now and then – The most famous thing being the Thanksgiving luncheon for the Faculty that the 8th grade students will be helping to prepare.  The staff always does a pot luck dinner of sorts, I conduct a lesson on safe food handling and show the students how to properly prepare and dress a turkey.  The 8th graders will prepare pumpkin pie, green bean casserole, sweet potato casserole, and mashed potatoes.

Not quite as exciting is learning the parts of the sewing machine so that we can sew our pillows, and then hand sew our teddy bears.  I love sewing with the kids and I can’t wait to see our 8th graders boxers when they are done.

Thanksgiving is a time to sit back and give thanks for all the wonderful things that are a part of our life and our world.  There are so many things that I am thankful for… Good health, wonderufl family, a job, freedom tobe who I want to be, and so much more…

What things are special to you, and what do you look forward to most at Thanksgiving time?  Are there special foods that you eat during that time?  If so, why not share the recipe with us?  I am sure that others would love to make those goodies as well!  Feel free to share your recipes under the RECIPE tab at the top of the page by submitting a comment.

I hope you all enjoy the Thanksgiving Holiday season and I look forward to seeing all the goodies that you create during FACS 4 FUN, FACS class, and at home!


Leave a comment